Rust Monster! OR Don’t Use Zinc Coated BBs in Your Acyrlic Paint…

So, about 10 months or so, I decided to pick up something to help me mix-up my Vellejo and Reaper paints.  I decided on some zinc coated BBs. Why? Well, in hindsight, I’m an idiot. BUT,  at the time I was thinking that zinc coating/paint was used in industrial applications as a rust suppressor. I was also thinking that as the BBs would be submerged in the paint most of the time, there would be relatively little oxygen to oxidize them. Look, chemistry 101 was a long time ago, and I don’t remember much of it.

Anyways, I haven’t used my paints much in the past few months and we recently moved. So, last week when I was unpacking things and setting up my bench, I was horrified to see:

Image

And:

Image

So yea, that sucks…

All told I’ve got 16 bottles of Vellejo and Reaper paints thusly effected, as well as some of my Game’s Workshop paints. I experimented on a bottle of GW Fortress Grey and managed to salvage 99% of the paint into another bottle. But it was a less than efficient process using my syringes and dropper thingy and it took like 15 minutes to do.

So, I decided to buckle down and order these strainers from Micro-Mark to help speed up the process.  The strainers will also be used for prepping paint for airbrushing. I will also be picking up a whole bunch of these dropper bottles to put the paint into as well as for custom paint mixes.

I find using the dropper bottles makes my life far easier. Airbrushing? no need for pippettes or anything. Hand brushing? Just put a few drops on a wet pallete, and BAM!

Tags: , , , , , ,

About greatersarcasmo

Father. Husband. Model builder, miniature painter, TV watcher and book reader

One response to “Rust Monster! OR Don’t Use Zinc Coated BBs in Your Acyrlic Paint…”

  1. greatersarcasmo says :

    Update: I received my strainer set from Micro-Mark yesterday. Having the product in hand, I was able to look it up by manufacturer. Turns out you can get the strainers individually from Dick Blick.

    Less than $6 a pop and under $15 for the set of three. Save yourself some cash and visit Dick Blick if you’re looking for some strainers!

Leave a comment